Home Basket Search

Write a review for the Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000 here!

Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000
5.0 18
£43.51
Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000
Great
By Ade.
Posted 18/03/2006

As another reviewer said, many things have been fixed with this keyboard including raised front, normal arrow/insert block keys, and function lock staying put.

The actual keyboard part is well scalloped, so it's curvier than it looks. Comfy to use and very stable.

I could do without all the 'extra' buttons though, and the instructions all read as though you have to install some software before you use the keyboard, which is silly. The 'zoom' rocker is only good for merriment: take her to warp factor 5!

The normal stuff is ace though :)

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
The best I've used in a very long time...
By Sylvain.
Posted 22/05/2006

I bought this keyboard a month ago for work and liked it so much that I bought another one for home.

That's saying a lot considering my last favourite keyboard (Cirque Wave Keyboard) lasted me 12 years !!!

I use to have an MS Natural keyboard and couldn't stand it because of the orientation of the Home/End keys and that stupid STUPID F-Lock key. The F-Lock is now off by default and the Home/End keys are horizontal with the Page Up/Down keys as they should be.

Two things (for me) are minor niggles. The extra rest to put under the front of the keyboard is too high. You really do end up with your wrists completely off your desk and it wasn't a position I was comfortable typing in. Half the height would have been much better. The other niggle is the keyboard isn't wireless. But that's a small price to pay for such a great keyboard.

By far and away the best keyboard I've ever used and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Good but not perfect
By Paul.
Posted 18/11/2006

Good: - Feel of keys, not too hard or spongy, you can type quickly with this keyboard. - Lots of function keys, though took me a while to work out to use the F Lock to get to F3 etc. - soft wrist rest is really nice. - Dabs fast delivery Bad: - The space bar is slightly loose and rattles when pressed. Does not affect function but is annoying. I swapped it at first - the first one was worse, I'll just live with the second one and get used to it. - The number 6 is to the left of the split when it should be on the right.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Ergo 4000 with Linux
By Anonymous
Posted 03/03/2008

The zoom stick and My Favorites buttons don't register as key events in linux (Fedora 7), so can't be mapped to anything. Neither do the parentheses keys above the num pad.

The F keys can be transposed to a second set of buttons (save, open, reply etc. under windows) with an "F Lock" button, but when this is active some of the F keys don't register as key events either.

The other 12 buttons work as expected.

Overall the keyboard is good quality. It comes with a stand that angles it back to a comfortable angle, although this makes it look very strange! The wrist rest is nicely padded.

Takes a little getting used to, especially the narrow width enter key and left shift key (UK layout).

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
good
By patrea.
Posted 03/08/2006

I have just bought it - a touch of RSI recently.
It's good and I'll use it. It has got me to brush up on touch typing as the split keyboard is tricky to use otherwise.
I'm using Teaching you touch typing for 1/2 hour each day.
Criticism is that the angle of the split should be even more + the wrist rest is a bit too high.
Recommended

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Ok but expected better......
By Anonymous
Posted 23/02/2006

I replaced my old MS Natural keyboard for this one for the extra control buttons e.g. volume control etc. The extra features work fine. But I feel the quality of the product is not a patch on the old MS keyboard. Will I change it? No. Would I recommend it? It's OK but I suggest you see it first before you buy.

  • Overall 3*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 3*
 
Shockingly Bad Quality
By Ian Spencer.
Posted 28/01/2008

I can't believe this keyboard has such good reviews. The quality of the plastic in the spacebar renders the whole keyboard unusable for touch-typing. It visibly flexes so much that it only registers a keypress if you press it directly in the centre. My thumbs aren't that long! Only recommended for people with really long thumbs.

  • Overall 1*
  • Ease of use 1*
  • Value for money 1*
 
But no PS2
By Tom.
Posted 17/08/2007

Flat out doesn't work with USB to PS2 adaptor, so no use with PS2 KVMs.

  • Overall 1*
  • Ease of use 1*
  • Value for money 1*
 
Call business sales team